Date: 28 March 2005


To: Members of the International Napoleonic Society

From: Dr. Ben Weider, President, and Donald D. Horward,

Chair of the 2004 Literary Committee


RE: The 2004 Literary Awards


It is with distinct pleasure and pride that we announce the results of the 2004 Literary Book Award of the International Book Society.

We are indebted to the presses that submitted thirteen excellent volumes to the 2004 Literary Committee for the annual literary prizes. We are please to announce that, as a result of the evaluations by the Committee, composed of David Gates, David Markham, Jeanne Ojala, John Severn, and D.D. Horward the following awards have been made:

First Price of $2,500 is awarded to Alexander Grab for his volume, Napoleon and the Transformation of Europe, published by Palgrave Macmillan, 175 Fifth Ave , New York , NY 10010 .

Second Prize of $1,500 is awarded to Adam Zamoyski for his volume, Moscow 1812: Napoleon’s Fatal March, published by Harper Collins, 10 East 53 rd Street , New York , NY 10022-5299

This year the PRESIDENT’S CHOICE AWARD of $1,000 was awarded to Alexis Suchet for his volume, Napoléon et le Management, published by Tallandier, 2004, 18, rue Dauphine , 75006 Paris.

Each of these publications has met the rigorous criteria established by the Literary Committee; they represent a significant contribution to the study of the Napoleonic and Revolutionary period as exemplified by the quality of research, originality, style, and analysis. It is a pleasure to congratulate each of these scholars on their commitment and achievements.

Ben Weider, C.M., C.Q., SBStJ, Ph.D.