DATE:             January 19, 2015

FROM:            J. David Markham, INS President, and Alexander Mikaberidze, Chair of the 2014 Literary Committee

RE:                  The 2014 Literary Awards

It is with distinct pleasure and pride that we announce the results of the 2014 Literary Book Award of the International Napoleonic Society.

We are indebted to the presses that submitted eleven excellent volumes to the 2014 Literary Committee for the annual literary prizes. We are pleased to announce that, as a result of the evaluations by the Committee, composed of J. David Markham, Dr. Alexander Grab, Dr. John Gill, Dr. Frederick Schneid and Dr. Alexander Mikaberidze and the following awards have been made:

First Prize of $1000 is awarded to Michael V. Leggiere for his volume Blucher: Scourge of Napoleon (Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 2014).

Second Prize of $500 is awarded to two authors, Rory Muir for his book Wellington: The Path to Victory, 1769-1814 (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2013) and Andrew Roberts for his Napoleon: A Life (New York: Viking, 2014).

Each of these publications has met the rigorous criteria published by the Literary Committee; they represent a significant contribution to the study of the Napoleonic and Revolutionary period as exemplified by the quality of research, originality, style and analysis. It is a pleasure to congratulate each of these scholars on their commitment and achievement.